School of Religion, Philosophy & Classics

Academic Staff

Name Position Discipline Phone No. Email Full Profile
Dr. Beatrice Okyere-Manu
  • Senior Lecturer
  • Ethics
033-260-5582 okyere-manv@ukzn.ac.za View
Prof. Bernard Matolino
  • Associate Professor
  • Philosophy
033-260-5564 matolinob@ukzn.ac.za View
Prof. Charlene van der Walt
  • Associate Professor
  • Gender and Religion
031-260-5559 VanDerWaltC@ukzn.ac.za View
Mr. Che Chetty
  • Lecturer
  • Religion
031-260-7289 chettyc2@ukzn.ac.za View
Ms. Cherry Muslim
  • Lecturer
  • Religion
031-260-7731 muslim@gmail.com View
Prof. David Spurrett
  • Dean & Head of School
  • Professor
  • Philosophy
031-260-2309 spurrett@ukzn.ac.za View
Dr. Deepak Mistrey
  • Lecturer
  • Philosophy
031-260-1185 mistrey@ukzn.ac.za View
Dr. Elke Steinmeyer
  • Senior Lecturer
  • Classics (Durban)
031-260-1306 steinmeyere1@ukzn.ac.za View
Dr. Federico Settler
  • Senior Lecturer
  • Sociology of African Religions
033-260-6078 settler@ukzn.ac.za View
Prof. Gerald West
  • Associate Professor
  • Biblical Studies
033-260-5232 west@ukzn.ac.za View
Dr. Heidi Matisonn
  • Lecturer
  • Philosophy
033-260-5565 matisonnh@ukzn.ac.za View
Dr. Helen Keith van Wyk
  • Senior Lecturer
  • Biblical Sciences
  • Biblical Studies
033-260-5572 keithh@ukzn.ac.za View
Prof. Herbert Moyo
  • Associate Professor
  • Theology
033-260-5574 moyoh@ukzn.ac.za View
Dr. Jacek Brzozowski
  • Lecturer
  • Philosophy
033-260-5581 brzozowski@ukzn.ac.za View
Prof. Johannes Andreas Smit
  • Associate Professor
  • Theology
033-260-5540 smitj@ukzn.ac.za View
Dr. Julia Clare
  • Lecturer
  • Philosophy
031-260-1276 clare@ukzn.ac.za View
Prof. Lilian Cheelo Siwila
  • Associate Professor
  • Theology
033-260-6485 siwila@ukzn.ac.za View
Dr. Monique Whitaker
  • Lecturer
  • Philosophy
033-260-5578 whitakerm@ukzn.ac.za View
Mr. Mutshidzi Maraganedzha
  • Lecturer
  • Philosophy
033-260-5579 maraganedzham@ukzn.ac.za View
Prof. Patrick Lenta
  • Associate Professor
  • Philosophy
031-260-1010 lentap@ukzn.ac.za View
Prof. Philippe Denis
  • Senior Professor
  • History of Christianity
033-260-5348 denis@ukzn.ac.za View
Mr. Richard Sivil
  • Lecturer
  • Philosophy
031-260-7129 sivilr@ukzn.ac.za View
Dr. Sibusiso Masondo
  • Senior Lecturer
  • Religion
031-260-7290 Masondosi@ukzn.ac.za View
Prof. Simangaliso R. Kumalo
  • Associate Professor
  • Theology
033-260-5850 kumalor@ukzn.ac.za View
Dr. Suzanne Sharland
  • Senior Lecturer
  • Classics (Durban)
031-260-2314 sharland@ukzn.ac.za View